March 25, 2010

New Favorite Yoga Book

Posted in Uncategorized at 3:37 pm by DivineShantiYoga

So, one way that I replenish my personal energy is by feeding my brain. I love to read. I love to read both fiction and non-fiction, but it is the non-fiction that seems to have the most nourishment for me.

My personal library of books on health and Yoga has expanded to the need of additional bookcases to hold them all. I frequently reference them, and the fuel for not only the mind, but the soul as well always feels fantastic.

I am currently reading perhaps one of the best Yoga books I have come across in some time. We know that Yoga is so much more than physical postures, or asanas. Even when simply looking at the eight limbs, the first two, Yamas and Niyamas (moral observances and restraints) are crucial to having a wholesome practice of Yoga.

Yoga for a World out of Balance, by Michael Stone is a refreshing book dealing with the Yamas (described in the Yoga-Sutra), and how interconnected we are to every single aspect of the world around us. Let’s face it, we are out of balance. As Michael states, “It is difficult to be present from moment to moment in this attention-deficit society.”

He explains how social action in our world is actually the path to maintaining balance in our lives through our Yoga practice. He shares an inspiring message that Yoga belongs in our world, and the world belongs in our Yoga. It is also so refreshing that finally, someone is addressing how to maintain the blissful feeling of Yoga into the fast-paced world around us. Giving my two thumbs up for this one, and thank you!

Leave a Reply

