September 1, 2010

Movie Review

Posted in Uncategorized at 9:52 pm by DivineShantiYoga

So, I’ve been asked a lot lately if I saw the movie “Eat, Pray, Love” and what were my thoughts on it. I didn’t read the book, but I did see the movie. I must say that I made the mistake of creating a perception of what I thought it was going to be like, and had high expectations.

My take on the film is simple. Although I was hoping to be inspired to travel the world in search for something larger than me, I actually finished the movie feeling less-than inspired. The message was clear, simplistic, and her character was a bit whiny and hard to please in my opinion. For so many people, this story’s message could be profound. I was hoping for more (again my mistake for having created this expectation).

While I enjoyed seeing the beauty and reality of the countries she traveled to, I mostly enjoyed the relationships that she had created along the way. While breaking through her personal barriers, she learned to open herself enough to find love in other human beings who also needed her in their life. That was beautiful.

The spiritual message in this movie, was simply to accept yourself. To forgive yourself. And she proved that you don’t need to travel the world in order to find that. It resides within you already. I just felt a bit like “well duh”, I wanted more. 🙂

When we spend all of our energy going through the motions in life, without slowing down enough to find gratitude in every moment, we may find ourselves questioning existence, or seeking more. Her lessons included letting go through ceasing to try to control everything, take time to meditate daily (very important), and to allow love to enter your being.

Sounds pretty similar to having a yoga practice to me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

